Es’hail-2 Mission

SpaceX is targeting launch of the Es’hail-2 satellite on Thursday, November 15 from Launch Complex 39A (LC-39A) at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida. The primary launch window opens at 3:46 p.m. EST, or 20:46 UTC, and closes at 5:29 p.m. EST, or 22:29 UTC. […]

Reflections on NASA’s Kepler Mission

The Kepler space telescope was NASA’s first mission to take a survey of exoplanets in our galaxy. The mission revealed that there are more planets than stars in the Milky Way, many of them rocky like Earth, and others unlike anything found in our own […]

NASA Previews InSight Mars Landing

Original Air Date: Wednesday, Oct. 31 10:30 a.m. PDT (1:30 p.m. EDT, 1730 UTC) NASA discusses landing the first-ever mission to study the heart of Mars. InSight (Interior Exploration using Seismic Investigations, Geodesy and Heat Transport) will be the topic of this media briefing, which […]

InSight Landing on Mars

When NASA’s InSight descends to the Red Planet on Nov. 26, 2018, it is guaranteed to be a white-knuckle event. Rob Manning, chief engineer at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory, explains the critical steps that must happen in perfect sequence to get the robotic lander safely […]

Testing a Parachute for Mars

Watch as NASA tests a new parachute for landing the Mars 2020 rover on the Red Planet. On Sept. 7, NASA’s ASPIRE project broke a record when its rocket-launched parachute deployed in 4-10ths of a second—the fastest inflation of this size chute in history. For […]